Jamie and Eric Watson

About Us

Hello, our names are Jamie and Eric Watson. We are married and have two wonderful boys. We both own and operate a large licensed home daycare (also known as family daycare or in-home daycare) in beautiful Carlsbad, California, in North County, San Diego. We are both licensed childcare providers and provide childcare for up to, but never to exceed 12 children at any one time. We are both C.P.R and first aid certified. We opened our home and began caring for children in May of 2002. We are extremely proud of the reputation that we have built over these past years under the name of Building Blocks Home Daycare, and we look forward to continue serving families and their children for many years to come.

By far the most common question Jamie and I are asked by new parents visiting our daycare is "how do you manage to take care of all these kids and your own each day - we're having a hard time with just one?" Everyone is good at something, and Jamie and I are very good at caring for children. We thoroughly enjoy our job. We prefer to work alongside children. We actively chose to make caring for children our life long career. We did not turn to childcare by default, or because we lost our former job, or because one of us was a stay at home parent and figured "what the heck, might as well while I'm at it". In 2002 we bought our home with the sole intention of running a home daycare from it even before we had kids of our own. Because we are fully committed to our chosen profession, in 2005 we made a significant investment into our home, thereby dedicating a large portion of our home strictly for daycare. This gives us the unique advantage of having the best of both worlds. We have a small group of children (comparatively), yet at the same time we offer a childcare center like environment; with lots of stimulating colors, no nick-nacks to avoid, and with large child friendly areas for children to actively explore.

Jamie and I are an easy going, relaxed, mellow couple. However, we take our vested responsibility very seriously, but not so much so that we loose focus of our main objective - that goal being, helping other parents raise healthy and happy children. Simply put, our energy is maintained on helping the children in our care to feel safe, happy, and loved; to bolster self confidence, self assurance, and trust; enabling every child to progress at their own pace, in a way that best makes them feel happy and content. Additionally, we genuinely care about the relationship and trust that develops between parent and provider. We constantly put ourselves in your shoes and therefore we treat your child as if they were our own. Having three children of our own, we fully understand the trust that must be placed with us and we take this earned trust extremely seriously.

Additionally, we feel that daycare can and should be a positive experience for each and every child that we care for. Therefore, we prefer to work side by side with parents that feel and act the same. We completely understand that having to leave your child in someone else's care on a daily basis may not be your ideal situation. However be that as it may, it is for this reason that we prefer to only surround ourselves and our work environment with nice, positive people that share our sentiment towards daycare. If you feel that you may not fit this personality profile and/or have the ability to leave any and all negativity at the door, then our daycare may not be the best fit for you. Yes, our primary job and concern is to care for the children entrusted to us, but the relationship that develops between us and the parents, is to us, of equal importance.

That said, if you’re a parent simply looking for a place where your child will be safe, have fun, and learn through play while you’re away, then look no further, Building Blocks is the place you'll want your child each day.

About Jamie

Hello, my name is Jamie Watson. I am 41 years old, and I have 26 years of experience working as a nanny, preschool teacher, and childcare provider. I am also a proud mother of two wonderful boys. I was born and raised in Dupont, Washington (a small town about 45 minutes south of Seattle). Being the eldest of five siblings, I have always been around children and enjoyed caring for them. As a teenager, I volunteered my time as a 4H camp counselor and teacher's aid at the local elementary school, and babysitting for my neighbors and family friends. One of my regular babysitting jobs turned into a part time nanny job for a family with 5 children. I continued working for them into my adulthood and also worked as the baby photographer at a Seattle based photography studio.

While on vacation with some friends, I met Eric and knew he was the "one". After trying the long distant relationship, I decided to move to California to be with Eric. This was a big move for me, leaving my family and friends was a hard thing to do, but I knew Eric was the love of my life, and that relocating was necessary in order to begin our life together. Shortly after moving to Carlsbad, I quickly realized that I missed working with children on a regular basis. This prompted me to put in my resignation at the photography studio that I had transferred to from Washington, and search for a job that would allow me to work with children instead. I was immediately hired at a childcare center in Encinitas by a wonderful director. In conversation one day with the director of the childcare center, I shared my intentions of going back to school to become a teacher. She told me that she felt I had a special gift for working with infant through preschool age children and to take that into consideration before making any decisions on my career. Well the rest is history.

That following year Eric and I bought our house, got married, started a home daycare, and had our first child, Julian. Our second child, London, was born 2 years later. I love that I have the opportunity to get up every day and work with children, stay home with my own two sons, and work side by side with my husband. We both find great fulfillment in being an important part of each child's life that we care for. I consider it a privilege to care for these children. Their smiles and laughter can change your world; I wouldn't trade my job for anything.

About Eric

Hello, my name is Eric Watson. I am also 41 years old, and I have 13 years of experience working as a child care provider. I am also a very proud father of two wonderful boys. I was born in Banning, California, and raised in and around San Diego County along with my two younger brothers. At age eighteen I moved to Carlsbad, California, and I have lived here ever since. At age nineteen I began working as a personal trainer, which I enjoyed very much. However, at the same time I was also modeling part time. Unexpectedly, modeling became my full time carrier for six long years (too much traveling). At age twenty I purchased a three unit rental property in Carlsbad. I still own it, and it still takes up much of my weekends. As the years passed my modeling career was beginning to slow. So I thought I might follow in my father's footsteps and become a firefighter. In order to do so I needed to become an EMT (Emergency Medical Technician) first. After completing a 156-hour course of instruction and training and passing an extremely difficult test, I realized my goal and received my EMT license.

During this same time period I met Jamie while on vacation. At the time she lived in Dupont, Washington. After a brief long distance relationship, we both quickly realized we could not live apart. Jamie made a bold and romantic gesture and relocated to Carlsbad to share her life with me. We were married on 7/26/2003. Early on during this same time period, Jamie and I learned of our shared love of children. This in turn prompted me to rethink my decision of becoming a firefighter (much to the dismay of my father). Jamie and I both wanted to do something that we enjoyed, yet at the same time gave us meaning and purpose in life. So together, Jamie and I decided to open a home daycare. Thereby, providing us with exactly what we were looking for in a career choice. So instead, I ended up following in the footsteps of my mother (the elementary school teacher).

From that point things moved quickly. We purchased our home, started our business, and got married all in the same year. We were both eager to start a family of our own. Jamie became pregnant, and our first son, Julian, was born on 6/4/04. Two years later our second beautiful son followed, and London was born on 6/23/06. Five years after opening our home to families and their children, we could not be happier. Our childcare business is flourishing, and my family and I are happy, in love, and content. Jamie and I both love what we do, and we consider it a privilege to have the opportunity to help mold the lives of children each and every day.